You are here: About FIDIS > FIDIS Consortium > ICCS > 


The National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) is the oldest and most prestigious technical university in Greece. It was founded in 1837 and has since been contributing to the progress of the engineering science in Greece, through the education of young engineers and its multi-faceted research and development activities.

The University comprises nine departments, each one covering a different aspect of the engineering field, from electrical engineering and computer science to civil engineering. Over 700 academic staff members are involved in the education of more than 12,000 students in NTUA undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education programs.

The School of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the National Technical University of Athens is well known in Greece and abroad for the research achievements of its faculty members and the good reputation of its students and alumni. The field of Electrical and Computer Engineering spans a wide range of subject areas, like computer science, telecommunications, electronics, automatic control and electric power.

The research activity of the Division of Communications, Electronics and Systems of Information technology focuses on the following areas: Acoustics Communication and Mass Media Technology, Algorithms and Logic, Network Management and Optimal Design, Computer Networks, Multimedia Communications and Web Technologies, Electronics, Microelectronics and Electronic Sensors, Media and Communication, Telecommunications.
Our Distributed, Knowledge and Media Systems Group is divided into three sections with research activities on:

  1. Advanced Distributed Computing
  2. Knowledge, Media & Digital Art
  3. Embedded Systems & Sensor Network.

For further information visit us at:
Advance Distributed Computing Laboratory :